top of page


Since 1936, the walls of the Canyon have served as the summer home for hundreds of Scouts who have served as members of the Canyon Camp Staff. All who have served on Staff have experienced the special spirit that abides in the canyon. As they departed Camp through the Stukenberg Gates, all of these staff members carried with them the intangible spirit which has subsequently helped them be more productive citizens in the years following their departure from Staff. Each summer, every Staff member has many opportunities to personally nourish the Spirit of Canyon Camp in him or herself and others, by thought and by deed. The Spirit Scholarships are intended to recognize those staff members who most unselfishly have shared their experience, time and skills to make the summer a positive experience for the Scouts, Scouters and Staff members with whom they've worked. In essence - a recipient is recognized for having and for sharing with others, the Spirit of Canyon Camp.

Current Named Scholarships


How to give to the Spirit of Canyon Camp Staff Scholarship Endowment

For a donation of $100 three Elaine Bethke prints can be selected (see below). For $250 all ten can be received. Donations should be made payable to Blackhawk Area Council, BSA with "Canyon Camp Endowment" listed in the memo.  These funds flow into Spirit Scholarship Endowment.  Checks are recommended to be sent to Ron Spielman, 1335 – 25th Avenue, Monroe, WI. 53566. Funds are guaranteed deposit to the proper accounts and the print(s) of your choice are then sent to you.  

     Elaine Bethke prints created to support the Spirit Scholarship program:


             Canyon Camp Bell

             Founder’s Lodge

             Held Nature Center

            Hess Farmstead Barn

            Vickery Health Lodge

            Stagecoach Trail Sign

            Jamboree Cabin

            Rawleigh Headquarters Building

            Dining Hall Historical Signs


Scholarship recipients 1992-present

Richard Reynolds

bottom of page